12
Sep
09

Do Calvinists Cast Out Demons?

Allow me to answer my own question. I don’t think so. As a group, they are simply too given over to rationalism.

To be perfectly honest, I would like for someone to prove me wrong on this. Remember, I am only writing observation and opinion. This item may offend both Ph.D’s and Calvinists at the same time but I don’t appreciate feigned niceties and fawning pretention. As the reader will detect, I have not tried to keep butter from melting in my mouth.

“For the kingdom of God is not in word (intellect and philosophy) but in power (supernatural display).”

1 Corinthians 4:20

________________________________

 “But if I cast out demons with the finger of God, surely the kingdom of God has come upon you.”

Luke 11:20

_____________________________

 “Some peoples’ God ain’t no bigger than their cranial capacity

Anonymous

A number of my friends are missionaries and serve in rather complicated parts of the world. These are dark, demonically controlled religious cultures of shamen, spells, spirits, sacrifices to idols and other things too sinister to briefly explain.

Another missionary once made the aside comment that he had never seen a Ph.D. cast out a demon. In more than thirty-five years, I have traveled, doing ministry in fifteen nations (been to Europe twenty-six times). Added to a great number of independent churches I have perhaps preached  thousands of times in churches of nineteen different denominations. I have worked on university campuses and street corners, among professional athletes, in circus tents, coffee houses, bars, campgrounds, prisons, Indian reservations, among gypsies, pagans of every description, Muslims, Roman Catholics, animists and almost every cult you can think of. I have been interpreted in at least twenty or more languages and you know what? I’m sure they have, but I have never seen a Ph.D. cast out a demon. Is this what it means, “having the form of godliness without the power?”

Now this has caused me to think. I have also been in contact with Calvinists in many ministry situations and guess what? I have never seen a *Calvinist cast out a demon. In fact, it may be worse than that! I only once saw a demon manifest in a service where Calvinists were giving leadership. Did they step down and take authority? Did the leaders even discern what was taking place?  Absolutely not, they ushered the woman out of the meeting with instructions to her family members, that perhaps, first thing in the morning, they should take her to see a psychiatrist.

I suspect there are Calvinists who are, as they used to say, “filled with the Holy Ghost and power,” but I just haven’t met any. In my experience here is what they are good at. They are good at spelling, punctuation, grammar and syntax. They are excellent at attending conferences, pumping themselves up and encouraging each other on. They are great at typing and the mastery of words. I see them as readers of books, seminarians, academics, philosophers, scholars and intellectuals (I am not being anti-intellectual, I am simply arguing what Paul argued, we should put no confidence in the flesh). I regard Calvinists as those engaged in discussion, argument, debate, exegesis, eisogesis and proselytism but I do not see them as people with power unless it is the power of persuasion which they, according to their philosophy, should not even care about.

For me, John the Baptist described them best when he said,

“…But what did you go out to see? A man clothed in soft garments? Indeed, those who wear soft clothing are in kings’ houses.”

Indeed, I am not trying to be diplomatic.

*To be fair, to my diappointment I have rarely seen members of other theological persuasions cast out demons either.

2 Responses to “Do Calvinists Cast Out Demons?”


  1. April 3, 2012 at 6:21 am

    Nice to know; I’m looking for a church where casting out demons in the name of Jesus is not only tolerated, but practiced. Do you know of some denominations that are more tolerant of this?

    Our family had an experience where a woman asked to be delivered from them, but the church forbade it…
    http://dreamsofdunamis.wordpress.com/2012/04/01/pray-for-carolina/

    • April 6, 2012 at 8:47 pm

      Most of the churches that I am aware of (even Pentecostal) only give lip service to deliverance. Frankly, demons rather mess up the decorum and order of service. I should think that you need to look for a par-church ministry or perhaps fearless and experienced prayer group. I never looked for demons and don’t think everything is “demonic” as some individuals do. Occasionally they would manifest and I had no choice but to deal with them. Demons are something but they are not everything and while they would like attention I try not to give them very much. This would simply be playing into their hands.


Leave a Reply

