08
Apr
10

More Evidence of Christian Confusion…

Explain this to me. While in Savannah we found this car in a church parking lot. I tried to figure out from the persons bumber stickers just what theological statement(s) he or she seemed to be making. Oh, well, this is the south where evangelicalism can be slightly muddled. People can believe in Jesus and everything else at the same time. After awhile I just gave up and attributed this to the Emmergent church movement or maybe (and who knows) he or she just might be poking fun at the entire business. I would prefer mocking to any of the other possibilites I could think of.

4 Responses to “More Evidence of Christian Confusion…”


  1. 1 Holly Thomson
    April 9, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    Let’s hope this person was seeking and finally found the right answer when they went to church!

    • April 9, 2010 at 1:48 pm

      I hope so too but frankly, many churches are the source of the confusion. When I was younger we traditional evangelicals could point our fingers at Roman Catholicism and liberal mainline churches or perhaps abberant groups like the Seventh Day Adventists or the cults. Now, however, overall so called conservatives, pentecostals, charismatics and evangelicals are as heretical as any other of the groups formerly mentioned. The trick for all of us is to stay centered on Jesus, the Holy Spirit, the Word of God and in fellowship with a balanced church or group. Further, we need to make sure that we are in the stream of consensual, historical Christianity. All groups sometimes overemphasize minor doctrines (and this is to be expected) but the danger comes when any group believes that it has ALL or SPECIAL revelation on the Word of God or Christian experience. My wife Jeanne has written a short but important book on this very subject. Read it on line at http://www.alargerplace.wordpress.com (Detecting Spiritual Imbalance in Christian Groups).

  2. 3 Francesco
    April 9, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    Option 1: a Christian with a sense of humour who also believes in evolution
    Option 2: non-Christian who loves to mock Christians

    • 4 Holly Thomson
      April 9, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      I absolutly agree and although it seems to be getting worse, I think this is nothing new as witnessed by the seven churches mentioned in Revelation. I believe I found a really good church when God led me to Pineville Nazarene.

      I’m just now getting into your blog, but I’m loving it…thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

