16
Dec
11

Deism… we need a Copernican revolution in the church

“In answer to your inquiry, I consider that the chief dangers which confront the coming century will be religion without the Holy Ghost, Christianity without Christ, forgiveness without repentance, salvation without regeneration, politics without God, and heaven without hell.”

William Booth (1829-1916), Founder of the Salvation Army

The chickens have come home to roost.

I recently made this statement on my Facebook wall, “Deism is not Christianity.” It was simple enough but some people wanted to know why I would post such a cryptic comment. What did I mean by the statement? Who is it for? I admit to having a motive. I am addressing folks that I know so this is no accident. A nod of the hat toward Jesus will not do in the day of judgment. One does not have to be blasphemous to be a Christ rejector. You may go to church every Sunday and still reject Him. All one has to do is say at heart, “I will not have this man to rule over me. He won’t ell me what to do. I will think and do as I please.”

As usual, I just say what I mean to say. Both churches and hell are full of Deists and Humanists masquerading as Christians. Let me remind the reader of James 2:19,  “You believe that there is one God. Good! Even the demons believe that—and shudder.”  At least the demons go farther than the impostor. They have a fear of God. They know the authority of Jesus. Deists have no special place for Christ. He is simply one among many.

There is most probably a God but He has taken His hands off of human affairs. He does not interact with history or time and man is left to his own devices. Because of this, there is in fact, a direct link between Deism and Humanism as ideologies. Since God is not involved then man must do his best to go it alone. Humanism puts man at the center.

I am always suspicious of those who claim to be Christians but Jesus’ name never comes up in their life story. They will talk about God well enough but have no place of affection for Jesus Himself. As a Bible teacher I see this far to often expressed or should I say, not expressed by members of the student body. Some do not hold him dear. Many who do not find Jesus attractive – all together lovely. He is not in any sense precious. People absolutely will not come outside of the camp and bear his reproach. We will gladly bear a cross as long as it is not brutal and blood stained.

Jesus is central to what it means to be Christian and there is no Christian faith, no saving faith, without Him. He is the unique manifestation of the only One, true and living God in the flesh. Again, here is support for what I have to say, “Whoever transgresses and does not abide in the doctrine of Christ does not have God. He who abides in the doctrine of Christ has both the Father and the Son.” 2 John 1:9

It is critical for people to get this  right.

1 Response to “Deism… we need a Copernican revolution in the church”


  1. 1 Janet
    December 16, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Thank you Tony for this excellent article! We need to be shaken and sifted.

    Blessings!

    Mike Brown


Leave a Reply

