16
Dec
11

When foolish minds are darkened…

Ultimate Questions

Sometimes I have said from the pulpit, “Some people just aren’t smart enough to get saved.” Of course I say this to shock the ambivalent back to their senses but I mean what I say. I don’t mean they aren’t intelligent I just mean they never think about anything very large. They don’t think about the main questions of life-like,

1. Where did I come from?
2. Why am I here?
3. Where am I going?
4. Does it make any difference?
5. What went wrong?
6. What if I’m wrong?
7. What makes a human being incredibly different from all of the animal world?

I can tell you. We have only five shared senses.We have an additional two. We are made with two senses they apparently do not have. Perhaps we should ask ourselves, “Why?” We have reason (the ability to plan and reflect) and conscience (the ought of right and wrong). Where did these intellectual attributes come from? Evolution will not account for either.

They prefer rather to whistle through the graveyard of life, living unconsciously – being occupied by stupid trivialities and momentary amusements like the Oscars, the Golden Globes, American Idol, Charlie Sheen and Lindsay Lohan, et al. There is nothing wrong with any of these trendy things when kept in the cellar rather than allowing them to take over the living room. Most (even Christians) have elevated the small things and from those (albeit shallow) they find existence rather than purpose. Socrates was right, “An unexamined life isn’t worth the living.” We used to say of people who would not face the facts as those who “played the Ostrich.”

0 Responses to “When foolish minds are darkened…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

